Posted by: joannabrandi | June 3, 2010

How May I Enrich Your Life?

“Good Morning, how may I enrich your life?”

That’s the first thing I heard after being connected to a rep at Gano Excel where I buy the stuff I drink instead of coffee. It took me back and made me smile at the same time. He was pleasant, I made my purchase, but his question stayed in my mind all day.

Questions have the power to focus our attention and all day long I thought about that one. “How may I enrich your life?”

I so love it as an alternative to “How may I serve you?” or “What can I do for you?” And while it may not be an actual sentence that you feel comfortable saying it in your business, your COULD be thinking it!

You could be getting up in the morning and thinking before you get to the office – how can I enrich the lives of the people I work with and for, how can I enrich the lives of my customers, how can enrich the lives of my children, my friends, my family?

Carry that question with you for a few days and see what happens. So far I’d say that I enriched the lives of two friends, three clients, two colleagues and a couple of people at the deli. I enriched by going a little farther and providing a little something extra, making soup from scratch and paying a visit, listening deeply and making many suggestions, connecting people with like interests, relaying some intuitive insight, listening for strengths and playing them back in the form of feedback, and giving a foot rub.  Today, as I reflect on that and write this post, I feel energized my enriching others and feel like I’ve been enriched myself.

It’s funny how that works. Who’s life can you enrich today?

Responses

  1. This blog got me thinking. I have vowed to try this line. But, like many phrases, I think this will be much more than a line, becuase once uttered it forces me to think differently, and more about the whole person, rather than one aspect. It forces one to think about the customer as having a life rather than just a moment. Also it got me thinking about what businesses could do or be if we as consumers made better choices for ourselves and then the marketplace would conform to our needs. As an example, I recently told my 9 year old, “no more slushies.” (he loves slushies) He looked sad. Instead I said you can have Jamba Juice. His eye lit up, “really?” he seemed to say. I drove way out of my way and spent more, but real juice has real value to me and to his body. If we all made this sort of value based decision, we would probably buy fewer beverages, but the ones we buy would be healthier. Isn’t an economy supposed to be value based anyway? So then why do we spend so much money on junk, rather than on things of true value? What would our food industry look like if businesses that look like McDonald’s were replaced with businesses that look like Jamba Juice? What if that were duplicated across other industries as well? Well I think that healthier food businesses are taking off and becoming plentiful, but it’s the consumer who will drive this movement or not.

  2. YAY! That’s what this blog wants to do – get you thinking. That comment had me thinking for days!

    Yes – let’s ask the question – what IF businesses that looked like any businesses selling food that hurts both people and planet looked more like healthy ones?

    I’m afraid it’s up to each individual to make the choice. It’s not a good idea to get me started on the food issues.

    Let’s just encourage those we love to make the healthiest choices possible!

    And I’m glad we got you thinking.


Leave a Reply

Categories

