Posted by: joannabrandi | December 3, 2009

Your Body Hears Everything You Say

This time of year, especially, I am prone to trying to connect with people I have not heard from in a long time. I am not yet (by choice) a real fan of facebook (although I know full well its power) so I’m probably not as up to date on my friends, prospects, and yes, even customers as those that have fully taken advantage of the power of social media.

I am one of those people that tends to take on way more than they can realistically accomplish. Consequently there are times (this is one of them) when I guard every moment as precious and commit myself to staying focused NO MATTER WHAT draws my endless curiosity.

I digress.

Today I wrote to someone I haven’t heard back from in a long time. I was frightened by his response to my request for just a nod (a return email, 5 minutes on the phone…).

“I’m slammed” he said. “Picked up some new responsibilities that are just killing me.”

Ouch. That frightened me. So I wrote back.

“Watch that language or it will kill you.  You’re challenged and you’re capable and you are resilient. You’re a pro and you’ll know just what to do to get the job done.  I don’t want you dying on me, we haven’t met yet. Remember – the body hears everything you say. Breathe – deeply”

I didn’t know anything else to say. I haven’t heard back and hope he’s not upset.

I’m sensitive to language. If someone says “This cheesecake is to die for!” I truly worry about them. Because I know that the body listens. Why program it to die from cheesecake?

I know, I know. Most people think I’m nuts.

I’m not.

When I tell myself I can, I can,. When I tell myself I can’t, I can’t. You can see it in a 4 year old.

“Slammed” is such a violent word. I now it because I used to use it – along with “crash burn deadlines” and “crazy, busy, nuts.”  Language has a way of framing our reality.

Look, I’m as stressed as the rest. My goal is to tell myself a story that feels more empowering, more manageable and more in alignment with the capable adult I’ve become. Positive self-talk is an important part of my teaching. (You can read more about that if you go to www.MotivationMadeEasy.com ) For fun, I developed a whole positive language around caring for customers.

The people who use it – love it. While I was at the Customers First conference several people approached me to tell me they subscribe and get their dose of positive self talk every Monday morning and love it. I was beaming. There’s nothing that makes me feel better than to think that my thoughts are making a difference. (Okay, I’m blushing…)

Watch YOUR language. Your body hears everything you say.

Leave a Reply

Categories

