Posted by: joannabrandi | February 19, 2008

The Mermaid Man

sand_lab.jpgFor all of you faithful “tip” readers ~ you’ll be happy to know that I found and met the “Mermaid Man.”

If you recall, a few weeks ago I wrote a tip titled “The Joy You Leave Behind” about a sand sculpture I discovered on the beach (you can read the original here (February 5, 2008 Tip)).

This Saturday, I am taking a walk down the beach and discover two seals, one porpoise, one dog and then finally one man in the process of sculpting a reclining otter out of sand.  Of course I had to stop and ask about the mermaid.

And yes, he had sculpted the mermaid ~ and yes he was aware of the joy he left behind.

He was quite aware of the joy he was creating for himself (he was having a grand time) and the joy he was creating right then. People stopped to watch him work and tell him how wonderful his work was. I stopped to tell him about an article I had written and sent out to close to ten thousand people, a woman stopped while I was there to ask if he could be there next week for her granddaughter’s birthday. He talked about how much fun that was for him.

He was aware that even after he’d left for the day people still marveled at his work and felt joyful. He did the work for himself and also felt good about the effect it had on others. ( So it wasn’t that far a stretch to compare it to the work in customer contact – even when we do a good job simply because it makes us feel well to do so, the joy spreads outward to others.)

I expect I’ll see more works from the beach sand sculptor, I’ll report back to see if I find any more parallels with the work with customers. Meantime – I thought you might be interested. Sorry it’s taken so long to get back to blogging – the spirit didn’t move me to blog while I was on the road.  I’ll have to work on that. Blogging hasn’t become quite the habit I need it to be – yet. I’m working on improvement. It’s a process. JoAnna
 

Leave a Reply

Categories

